Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Louise Schofield Award

The Louise Schofield Award for Services to SCBWI Australia West was established in 2011 in memory of our dear friend and colleague Louise Schofield, who was a vibrant, active, and dedicated member of our region.

Louise Schofield

Professionally, Louise was the author of ten books including The Zoo Room and Secrets in the Tingle Forest, which won the Western Australian Young Readers Book Award and was shortlisted for a Wilderness Society Award. Louise was the founder of the Mundaring HeARTlines Festival, which showcases the art of children’s book creation through exhibitions, workshops, talks and demonstrations by many WA authors and illustrators.

Louise placed particular importance on the mentoring of new writers and the mutual sharing of information and support. She worked tirelessly behind the scenes to help plan our first conference and Rottnest Island Retreat and, as much as her declining health allowed, contributed to the smooth running of subsequent SCBWI events. Louise was instrumental in our 2011 “SCBWI cow” project, including the naming of the cow – “Books Moove Me” – and also wrote an article which was published around the world via the international SCBWI Bulletin.

The Louise Schofield Award is presented biennially to a member who has made a significant contribution to the children’s book writers’ and illustrators’ community via their service to SCBWI West.



2021 – Cristy Burne

2019 – James Foley

2017 – Frané Lessac

2015 – Teena Raffa-Mulligan

2013 – Dianne Wolfer

2011 – Meg McKinlay